Idaho Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

Driving on Idaho roadways without minimum liability insurance is against the law.  Here are the minimum Idaho auto insurance coverage amounts required by Idaho law.

  • $25,000 for injury or death of one person
  • $50,000 for injury or death of two or more people
  • $15,000 for property damage

With punishments for those individuals that do not obey the law.

It is an infraction punishable by a fine of seventy-five dollars
($75.00) for any person to violate the provisions of this section for the
first time. A second and any subsequent conviction for a violation of the
provisions of this section or the provisions of section 49-1232 or 49-1428,
Idaho Code, within a period of five (5) years shall be a misdemeanor,
punishable by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by
imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or both. The
department shall notify any person convicted of a violation of this section of
the penalties which may be imposed for a second and any subsequent conviction.

Remember, these are just the minimum requirements. If you have a loan on your car, your lender may also require comprehensive and collision insurance as part of the loan agreement. Including higher minimum coverage requirements.